The owners are sad to leave this much loved, 1920's cottage that is full of history and charm. But it's time for them to move back to Canberra and another lucky owner will have the wonderful opportunity to continue caring for this little part of our local Australian history.
The cottage was originally the school house for Hoskinstown and brings many fond memories to the locals. The affinity for this cottage is evident as there has been just three owners who have each added their own unique touches to the property. Over the years it has been extended and renovated whilst retaining its character.
Set on nearly 3 acres boasting huge deciduous mature trees that provide of plenty of cool shade and gentle breezes in the Summer. You will find yourself sitting on the verandah enjoying the view and waving to the occasional neighbour who drives by!
The classroom is now converted to a lounge room and features original timber sash windows, original timber floors and if you look hard enough it even has some old embedded black ink stains!
The lounge walls are western red cedar and painted cypress pine. The ceiling showcases the ornate rosette mouldings around the lights. A large slow combustion fireplace with ornate timber mantelpiece keeps the place nice and warm in winter. There is also a good sized reverse cycle air conditioner, ceiling fan and heavy duty curtains.
A simple country style kitchen/combined laundry is bright and functional and has a door leading out to the back garden.
There are two large bedrooms located downstairs, one of which has an artist painted 'Australiana mural'. The kids will love it!!
Off the entrance is a small room with painted timber floors that is perfect as a study. There's also a huge attic with a window, timber lined ceiling and plenty of cupboard space, that's perfect for a quiet meditation room, kids play area or library and its currently used as the master bedroom.
The bathroom is unique with a stained glass door, stone step/slate floor shower and is complimented with cedar timber paneling and skylight.
On a practical side, there are two separate garages, one over-sized, providing plenty of extra storage, a large 25,000 litre poly water tank, bore for irrigating the gardens, a shed ideal for a dog or chicken pen, stable with a gate that leaves onto a well grassed paddock lined with pine trees that are nearly 100 years old.
This size acreage is perfect for someone looking to have a pony or alpaca pet in the back garden without spending your whole weekend maintaining a farm! With no direct neighbour on either side, apart from the community hall which is only used by locals, you feel as though you are in the midst of much larger acreage.
Main Features Include:
Original school house
Separate entrance with timber door
Stained glass door to bathroom
Lounge with western red cedar and painted cypress pine walls
Ornate rosette ceiling plaster around lights
Slow combustion fireplace with ornate timber mantelpiece
Reverse cycle air-conditioned
Insulation in ceiling
Original home has timber floor and timber sash windows.
2 large bedrooms
Hugh attic room currently used as a third bedroom
Front study room with painted grey timber floors
Stainless steel free standing Kleenmaid
Stainless steel Dishwasher
Timber bench top
25,000 litre poly tank with brand new water pump
Nearly 100 year old pine trees line the side of the paddock
2 plum trees, 2 almond trees and a chestnut tree on the property.
GENERAL INFORMATION ON HOSKINSTOWN
The tiny quiet village that isn't much more than a community hall, church and offers the utmost in privacy whilst remaining less than 20 minutes from Queanbeyan on a bitumen road.
Want to know a little more history? Here's a few notes from the current owner.
The old school house, Hoskinstown:
The school house was brought to Hoskinstown in 1929 from Numerella by a bullock team. The Bullocky were the Daniels brothers from Forbes Creek (a very historic and well known family in the region - e.g. Daniels Lane)
The school took Kindergarten to Year 6 kids and the teacher was Bob Hogan. There was a big plum tree out the front of the school. Vera Gardener's hat got 'planted' and there was no play time for 6 weeks!
There are ink stains on the original floor, mostly black, but there is a red one.
From the Palerang council website :
The original school was opened in a slab building in 1869 and was known as the Blackheath Denominational School. It wasn't until 1929 that a more substantial timber building was moved from Numeralla for the students. The school operated until 1967 and the building was subsequently sold and is now a private house.
Single storey weatherboard building with gable roof and distinctive multi pane windows, a traditional government feature for schools in the early 20th century.
Originally known as Blackheath, developed as a staging post along the route to the Araluen goldfields.
Hoskinstown Memorial Hall:
Opened in 1928, local people donated local materials, such as timber, and money for its construction. The land was donated by the Hyles family for a community hall to honour those killed in World War I.
While all care has been taken in compiling information regarding properties marketed for rent or sale, we accept no responsibility and disclaim all liabilities in regards to any errors or inaccuracies contained herein. All parties should rely on their own investigation to validate information provided.